Quoting Joyce Maynard on motherhood and memoirs

I came upon this statement in my notes and thought I had written it. In fact it is a quote from writer Joyce Maynard, from her memoir, At Home in the World:

“No marriage that created our three children could be called a failure. That our family has also known its struggles and pain will not come as news to anyone who inhabits it. I pray what my children take from my telling of this story is freedom from the kind of shame I experienced as a young person, and the lesson that every child, woman, and man should possess license to speak or sing in his or her true voice.”

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Quoting Joyce Maynard on motherhood and memoirs

  1. Hey Christine, this is Robert Vuolo writing to say hi and how very impressed I am. It’s been a very long time and was just curious to hear more about how your life has taken you all this time. Take care. robvuolo@yahoo.com. Drop a line if you have a chance.

Leave a comment