Boris Johnson’s Woman Problem

According to Huffington Post, London mayor Boris Johnson has made an offhand public remark implying that women attend university to find husbands. http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2013/07/08/boris-women-university-ma_n_3560276.html

This inevitably puts me in mind of my long -ago student interview at the college I was going to attend, during which I, a fully-formed feminist bursting with career and world-changing ambition, was told by my interviewer that the school wasn’t a place to come to find a man to marry. I was stunned. Incredulous that anyone still imagined girls went to college for this purpose. Horrified that anyone thought this way. 

This story has two twists.

First twist: four years later, shortly after graduation, I married a fellow grad.

Second twist: a couple of decades and three children later, my husband announced that he was no longer going to be a husband and father, and never had been a man. 

The college interviewer was right. The school wasn’t a place to find a man to marry.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

