As someone who has received support from GenderTrender in my own struggles with censorship I am saddened and appalled.

You think I just don't understand, but I don't believe you.

I received the following (unsolicted) email from Gallus Mag at GenderTrender, which I present unedited:

“As some of you may know, my posting access to my GenderTrender wordpress.com blog was suspended at the end of the business day on Friday January 18. My last post, on Friday morning, was a collection of screen caps: a random sampling of the abusive and threatening tweets directed at Suzanne Moore following her “SEEING RED: THE POWER OF FEMALE ANGER” article re-publication.

Prior to Friday morning’s post I did five controversial posts in succession:

  1. I outed an MD and Phd who threatened to murder a bunch of radical feminists, also specifically targeting myself and Cathy Brennan. 1/10/2013 FRI
  2. I posted the text of Professor Sheila Jeffeys’ submission to the Human Rights and Anti-Discrimination Bill 1/12/2013 SUN
  3. I posted the entire text (and published imagery) of Julie Burchill’s “Transsexuals Should Cut it Out”, which…

View original post 1,370 more words

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “

  1. Recovered from trans trauma

    So glad to find your site and I’m ordering your book from amazon. I came across your ex-husband’s memoirs last year at the American Academy of Religion and was frankly horrified and wondered ‘what about the wife’. I am a woman who grew up in a family where a male relative decided to transition. As a teen it traumatised me deeply, yet I didn’t find adequate counselling to help until well into adulthood, ruining my chances of marriage as a result. Why? All the mental health professionals out there are maintainng a cowardly politically correct silence so as not to be accused of ‘prejudice’. As a result I made a promise that I would do something as an adult to support people who had been hurt by transsexualism, and I learnt that the wives and other women are those hurt and damaged the most by this misogynistic pseudo-feminist movement.
    Keep up the blogging – real women should stand up to the tyranny of the male trans lobby, as they have harmed our mental health.

    • gbh

      i would love to continue this conversation with you. there needs to be a place for people who have been harmed by transsexual family members’s transitioning and the therapy community’s lack of knowledge on the subject. please try to contact me. i loved christine’s book, by the way!

      • Thank you for your support, and for recognizing that family members deserve help – this is far from universally acknowledged.

      • gbh

        i have suffered for over forty years since my brother announced his wish to change sex. after, by the way, that he revealed he didn’t like girls for his sexual preference (homosexual?). it was 1968 in the dark ages of “inversion” as homosexuality was called….interestingly, inversion was the term used for transsexual patients. the idea of a woman trapped in the body of a man was a narrative used for homosexual patients…..harry benjamin got busy and we now have a burgeoning industry in sex changes.

        my brother died on that day in 1976 under stanley biber’s knife, for my family. there was no place for our grief or grieving process and i suffered an intense clinical depression for years. nobody understood and even my therapist had not heard of transsexualism!! a Phd psychologist?

        we were basically told to keep calm and carry on…..not possible. we were the collateral damage to an ugly side of our medical industry…..homophobia dressed up as progress?

  2. It’s outrageous that Gallus Mag had her account disabled. Thank you for posting this. I stand in solidarity with her and with you. I’m very surprised at WordPress.

    These threats of violence appear to be given either overt or tacit approval by the trans community. If there are transpersons who don’t agree with this violence, they need to be vocal in reining in their own group. They need to be vocal in repudiating these actions. This violent group is becoming the face of trans.

    The unbelievably hateful comments by the transpersons that I have read are what I understand the trans position to be. Violence and particularly vile threats. If there are a large number of trans who don’t agree, they need to step forward. I don’t hear any large group saying that they don’t agree with the threats, violence, and silencing.

    Why should women always have to deal with this bullshit? Let the trans community come forward in large numbers and contact WordPress saying that they do not agree. Let them work to get the account reinstated.

Leave a Reply

